Ellen Pompeo Opens Up About Behind The Scenes Greys Anatomy Drama with Katherine Heigl and Isaiah Washington

018_103253_D_156-1.jpg

Wow. Look how young and well rested everyone looks! Crazy. And George! George is there! I still miss George. Yes, I realize I am a loser. ANYWHO.

Ellen did some interviews recently and talk swung around to old drama from behind the scenes and she told some very interesting stories that I had not heard.

Like, Isaiah was supposed to be her love interest originally!! Whoa! And that she thinks Katherine’s exit was pretty tough for everyone.

Hurt feelings, combined with instant success and huge paychecks started things spinning out of control,” she said. “The crazier things got, as I watched all the tumult with Isaiah and then the Katie thing, I started to focus on the work.”

“Maybe it is my Boston, blue-collar upbringing,” the 43-year-old actress continued. “I just tried to not pay attention to all the noise around me.”

Heigl’s departure, Pompeo admitted, was “tough.”

“You could understand why she wanted to go — when you’re offered $12 million a movie and you’re only 26,” she said. “But Katie’s problem is that she should not have renewed her contract. She re-upped, took a big raise and then tried to get off the show. And then her movie career did not take off.”

In a surprisingly frank story in The Hollywood Reporter last month, sources spoke out about how working with Heigl was a constant stream of “desperately difficult situations.”

“Shonda [Rimes, the show creator] really wanted to put a black man in the mix,” she revealed. “I didn’t think they were really going to put an interracial couple on the show and I didn’t want him. It was too close to home.” (Chris Ivery, Pompeo’s husband of six years, is African-American.) “I said I wanted that Dempsey kid. I think that once Isaiah did not get the role it backfired.”

Interesting stuff. Like Lainey Gossip always says… Hollywood sliding doors! You never know how it’s going to turn out.. and what if there had never been Dempsey as McDreamy? I love McDreamy. Does anyone other than myself watch this show anymore? It’s good again, guys. I promise.

US Weekly

About fckwhatyouheard

Stay at home mom of two, obsessed with Hollywood and celebrity culture and gossip. Have been described as the "Master of Useless Information". I don't own any of these photos and I present anything as FACT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

