Phil Robertson Of Duck Dynasty Talks About Homosexuality (Spoiler Alert: He’s Not a Fan)

phil-robertson-article

As someone who watches this show and is a big fan of it (It’s hilarious, I promise) I am having a hard time with this. As anyone who watches knows, the Robertson’s are Christians, one of the sons is a Pastor and they’re not ashamed of those beliefs. Something that goes hand in hand with those beliefs is the stance against gay marriage. Unsurprisingly, Phil, the patriarch, is very forthcoming with his beliefs, and made them quite clear to GQ.

“Everything is blurred n what’s right and wrong,” he complained. “Sin becomes fine.” The Louisiana-based entrepreneur clarified: “Start with homosexual behavior and just morph out from there — bestiality, sleeping around with this woman and that woman and that woman and those men.”

The devout Christian then paraphrased a biblical passage: “Don’t be deceived. Neither the adulterers, the idolaters, the male prostitutes, the homosexual offenders, the greedy, the drunkards, the slanderers, the swindlers — they won’t inherit the kingdom of God . . .Don’t deceive yourself. It’s not right.”

Despite those comments, Robertson claimed he doesn’t judge. “We never, ever judge someone on who’s going to heaven, hell. That’s the Almighty’s job,” he told GQ. “We just love ’em, give ’em the good news about Jesus — whether they’re homosexuals, drunks, terrorists. We let God sort ’em out later, you see what I’m saying?”

OK. Before we get out our pitchforks, everyone is allowed to have an opinion and belief system- that’s what this country was founded on! That said- I really feel his explanation could use some work. For instance, never use homosexuality and bestiality in the same occurrence because one does not equal the other. This has been a long running theme for people against homosexuality. Just because someone is gay does not make them into animals, mmkay?

And although he isn’t directly comparing homosexuals to terrorists, he’s kind of calling them one in the same. Along with drunks (I take offense!). Of course- after these bits were released a statement was issued by Phil through A&E. 

“I myself am a product of the 60s; I centered my life around sex, drugs and rock and roll until I hit rock bottom and accepted Jesus as my Savior. My mission today is to go forth and tell people about why I follow Christ and also what the bible teaches, and part of that teaching is that women and men are meant to be together. However, I would never treat anyone with disrespect just because they are different from me. We are all created by the Almighty and like Him, I love all of humanity. We would all be better off if we loved God and loved each other.”

So, not an apology but a clarification. His statement sounds a lot better than the interview.

US Weekly

About fckwhatyouheard

Stay at home mom of two, obsessed with Hollywood and celebrity culture and gossip. Have been described as the "Master of Useless Information". I don't own any of these photos and I present anything as FACT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

