Leah Remini Says She Left Scientology For Her Daughter

65652505

The more I read and learn about Scientology the more I KNOW it’s a cooky crazy cult. Sorry, not sorry that is the truth. And when Leah talks about it, it becomes even more evident. She decided to leave the church so that her daughter, turning 9, wouldn’t have to be audited, because that’s when that starts up. SCARY. No wonder Katie Holmes grabbed Suri and got the eff outta there.

But the final straw came when her daughter Sofia, 9, approached the age when auditing – a process that involves a series of probing questions – became required for acclimation into the church.
“In my house, it’s family first – but I was spending most of my time at the church,” she says. “So, I was saying ‘family first,’ but I wasn’t showing that. I didn’t like the message that sent my daughter.”
Remini, 43, says she tried to speak to her friends within the church to instigate change, but “they only cared that their lives would be disrupted if they stood with me. They didn’t care about doing the right thing.”

She goes on to talk about how her Mom had entered the church when she was a small girl, but even after all her years in the church she chose to stand by Leah and leave as well. That’s some strong familial ties.

“The fact my mother stood by me after all her years in the church totally took away any resentment I may have been harboring,” she says. “When it mattered the most, my mother was there for me. It was the moment that erased all those days she wasn’t there.”

So, now Leah is enjoying a regular (well, as regular for a famous person) life, hanging with friends and drinking wine, which you weren’t allowed to do in scientology. That’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back for me. No wine, no bueno.

“Before, I would be going to the church right after lunch. There’s no going to dinner with friends and having a glass of wine – I never did that in my adult life,” she says. “It was so crazy to me because you can’t get counseling the next day at the church if you’ve had a drink, so most Scientologists don’t drink.”

People

About fckwhatyouheard

Stay at home mom of two, obsessed with Hollywood and celebrity culture and gossip. Have been described as the "Master of Useless Information". I don't own any of these photos and I present anything as FACT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

