Mindy Kaling Doesn’t Need Marriage

mindy-kaling-2-435

Mindy’s on the cover of Good Housekeeping (why…?) and gives them an interview and discusses how she admires marriage, but doesn’t need it. Which makes sense.

“When I was younger, I wanted so badly to be married and have kids in a rush,” the Mindy Project star, 35, tells Good Housekeeping in its February issue, on newsstands Jan. 20.
“I loved my parents’ relationship. The way my father was with my mother when she was dying was so moving. It was such devotion. I don’t know that that will happen for me, but I like it.”
In any case, she’s more self-sufficient now.

“I don’t need marriage,” Kaling says. “I don’t need anyone to take care of all my needs and desires. I can take care of them myself now.”
On the topic of Novak, her former Office co-writer and onscreen love interest, Kaling says she makes an exception for him among her ex-boyfriends. “I’m definitely not in the friends-with-my-exes camp,” she says. “But B.J. has the stamp for life as a friend. My mom loved him. He feels like family.”

I’m still holding out for her and BJ Novak. They’re adorable together and I ship them hard. But, good for her being self sufficient. It’s a good place to be, and she is an awesome independent lady. If you haven’t read Mindy’s book, ‘Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?’ – I super suggest you pick it up. It’s hilarious and poignant and sweet. Just a perfect read.

Also- this paragraph about dating is so true it’s crazy.

“If I could relive the first three months of courtship over and over for the rest of my life, I would,” she says. “Especially in winter, who doesn’t like a nice heavy seven-course meal with lots of alcohol, then making out when you’re a little tipsy and taking a cab home to fall asleep in the clothes you wore on the date? Wait. Actually that was, like, my whole 20s. And it was very fun.”

People

About fckwhatyouheard

Stay at home mom of two, obsessed with Hollywood and celebrity culture and gossip. Have been described as the "Master of Useless Information". I don't own any of these photos and I present anything as FACT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

