Mo’Nique Says She Was ‘Blackballed’ After Winning An Oscar

59841852

She won the Oscar for ‘Precious’ all the way back in 2009. Practically eons ago in Hollyweird years. And she hasn’t really been seen in much since. Lee Daniels, the director of ‘Precious’ told her it’s because she didn’t play the game and has since been blackballed from future projects.

“How did the Oscar change my life? What it did was that it gave me a new reality,” Mo’Nique, who won Best Supporting Actress for her performance as a monstrous mother in 2009’s Precious, told THR. “And it let me know that an award wasn’t going to change my life — that I had to be in control of changing my life.”

“[Like] Hattie said, ‘After I won that award, it was as if I had done something wrong.’ It was the same with me,” Mo’Nique explained. “I thought, once you won the award, that’s the top prize — and so you’re supposed to be treated as if you got the top prize. [But] I got a phone call from Lee Daniels maybe six or seven months ago. And he said to me, ‘Mo’Nique, you’ve been blackballed.’ And I said, ‘I’ve been blackballed? Why have I been blackballed?’ And he said, ‘Because you didn’t play the game.’ And I said, ‘Well, what game is that?’ And he gave me no response.”

To this day, the actress claims she still isn’t entirely sure what Daniels meant. “You know what I learned? Never to think what somebody else was thinking. [So] that’s a question you would have to ask Lee Daniels,” she responded.

Daniels, for his part, then told THR: “Mo’Nique is a creative force to be reckoned with. Her demands through Precious were not always in line with the campaign. This soured her relationship with the Hollywood community. I consider her a friend. I have and will always think of her for parts that we can collaborate on. However, the consensus among the creative teams and powers thus far were to go another way with these roles.”

I’m wondering if maybe it’s just because she might not be very nice to people and is hard to work with? That’s what it sounds like to me. And who wants to work with someone like that in any regard? Nobody, that’s who.

US

About fckwhatyouheard

Stay at home mom of two, obsessed with Hollywood and celebrity culture and gossip. Have been described as the "Master of Useless Information". I don't own any of these photos and I present anything as FACT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

